ChampdAction Logo

Oboe Concerto (Empty Mind I)

Empty Mind Iis geïnspireerd op het werk en vooral het gedachtengoed van de Amerikaanse kunstenares Agnes Martin. Het werk is gecomponeerd in opdracht van ChampdAction in 2013 voor uitvoering door hoboïst Piet Van Bockstal. De ontwikkeling van de elektronica gebeurde in samenwerking met Jorrit Tamminga.

Wim Henderickx schreef voor deFilharmonie een versie uit voor solo-hobo en orkest. Dit Oboe Concerto (Empty Mind I) gaat in première op 28 november 2014 in deSingel en wordt de dag erna op 29 november 2014 herhaald in het Concertgebouw Brugge.

Op 23 maart 2015 wordt de versie met hobo en electronics hernomen in het project Dialogues in de Bijloke.


OBOE CONCERTO (Empty Mind I) has 6 parts (5 + 1), which may be carried out in any order. Main objective of the composer was to break open time and space. He made the combination of an open form (with a free order of the different parts) and the closed form (with a clearly defined score). In each section, there is a strictly composed part that displays a continuity between the parts and a number of free passages where the soloist can follow his own path with the material.

A strictly composed melody, based on a keen interest in microtonality, is repeatedly interrupted by these free items , with extended techniques on the oboe, such as multiphonics, glissandi, etc.

The electronics consist of a harmonic drone (a tapestry of sound) in the different layers. On the other hand, the sound of the oboe will be manipulated live, which will create a rich harmonic spectrum, based on just the sound of this solo instrument.
Because of the spatialization (using geomectric patterns) the sound will fill the entire space. This spatial effect will be reinforced by performing the successive parts at various places in the hall.

I: Awakening
II: Without desires
III: Ecstasy
IV: Contemplation
V: Secret glance


28/11/2014 deSingel Antwerpen 20:00
29/11/2014 Concertgebouw Brugge 20:00

© 2004-2023 ChampdAction