ChampdAction Logo

Oboe Concerto (Empty Mind I)

OBOE CONCERTO (EMPTY MIND I) was composed in commission of the Royal Flemish Philharmonic in 2014.

Wim Henderickx composed EMPTY MIND I for oboe and electronics for the same soloist, Piet van Bockstal. This work premiered in Lausanne in Switzerland in March 2014.

Both compositions are inspired by the minimalist works of the late Agnes Martin.

The electronics are very important in this work and were realized in collaboration with ChampdAction/Studio.

The oboe soloist will move around in the venue and the strings in the orchestra will have an unusual set-up, among the public.

Wim Henderickx would like to tread new, audacious paths with a symphonic orchestra.

This was his first commission as ARTIST IN RESIDENCE at the Royal Flemish Philharmonic.


OBOE CONCERTO (Empty Mind I) has 6 parts (5 + 1), which may be carried out in any order. Main objective of the composer was to break open time and space. He made the combination of an open form (with a free order of the different parts) and the closed form (with a clearly defined score). In each section, there is a strictly composed part that displays a continuity between the parts and a number of free passages where the soloist can follow his own path with the material.

A strictly composed melody, based on a keen interest in microtonality, is repeatedly interrupted by these free items , with extended techniques on the oboe, such as multiphonics, glissandi, etc.

The electronics consist of a harmonic drone (a tapestry of sound) in the different layers. On the other hand, the sound of the oboe will be manipulated live, which will create a rich harmonic spectrum, based on just the sound of this solo instrument.
Because of the spatialization (using geomectric patterns) the sound will fill the entire space. This spatial effect will be reinforced by performing the successive parts at various places in the hall.

I: Awakening
II: Without desires
III: Ecstasy
IV: Contemplation
V: Secret glance

Upcoming Events

28/11/2014 deSingel Antwerpen 20:00
29/11/2014 Concertgebouw Brugge 20:00

© 2004-2022 ChampdAction